• Digital Nomad Life 🌏
  • Posts
  • Dose #4 Learn one new travel destination, productivity tip and remote work skill today!

Dose #4 Learn one new travel destination, productivity tip and remote work skill today!

Add these travel, productivity and remote work tips to your list!

Hi there!

How's your week treating you? Can you believe we're already in a new month, with just a few weeks left until a brand new year? Time flies, doesn't it?

From this week on, I'm going to start sharing with you a new travel destination every week. These are all places that I've personally fallen in love with and I think you'll absolutely adore too! So get ready to add some amazing spots to YOUR travel bucket list!

Speaking of which, I've been having an absolute blast exploring Mexico for the past month, and I've had some truly incredible experiences that I can't wait to tell you all about.

Sponsored
Nomad for LessBecome a budget-savvy globetrotter with our insider insights 🌎✨ Join thousands of subscribers and start exploring for less!

«Travel bucket list»

Pyramid of the Sun and Pyramid of the Moon, Teotihuacán (state of México)

Teotihuacan, located near Mexico City, is an ancient Mesoamerican city known for its vast and majestic pyramids, including the Pyramid of the Sun and the Pyramid of the Moon.

These pyramids are testimonies to complex urban planning and architectural skills of the Teotihuacan civilization.

When you walk around you’ll be able to witness the beautiful frescos on the walls of the apartment complexes and temples. Many frescoes depict deities, mythological creatures, and religious rituals, providing a glimpse into the spiritual beliefs and practices of the Teotihuacan people. I felt like I time travelled while walking around.

The journey from Mexico City to the pyramids is approximately 50 kilometers and offers a scenic view of the surrounding landscape.

The best way to enjoy the Pyramids is to go on an AirBnb experience hosted by a local. They’ll take you through the city while explaining the historical significance and folklore. (Check out all the Mexico travel stories on my Instagram profile)

Fun Fact
Visiting Teotihuacan during an equinox offers a unique experience.

The phenomenon when the sun aligns with the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacan is a significant event, particularly noted during the equinoxes, which occur twice a year, around March 21st and September 21st. On these dates, the sun appears to be perfectly aligned with the Pyramid of the Sun at certain times of the day. This alignment highlights the impressive astronomical knowledge and architectural precision of the ancient Teotihuacan civilization.

«Personal Productivity Tip»

Couple of years ago, Dulitha and I did a personal productivity workshop together. One thing we figured out during the prep was that Productivity is Subjective. We tested the theory with a room full of nomads in Ahangama, and we still carry the learnings from that session.

On a personal level, productivity means how efficiently and effectively an individual can complete their tasks and goals. This definition is the same for all of us.

But we all have different individual goals, values, habits, and perceptions. So productivity can vary from person to person. There is no right or wrong answer in what productivity is in that sense.

Tip of the week is an oldie but a goldie.

It’s an understatement that this technique has been overstated in the history of productivity. But if you are starting off, this is a good place to start!

The Pomodoro Technique

It is a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s. The technique uses a timer to break down work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. Read from here and learn about how to use it to boost your productivity.

I started timing myself while working and it’s amazing how much work I get done within 25 minutes!!

«Remote Work Skill»

Instead of sharing where you can find remote work, I want to help you to improve your skills as a remote worker. I have worked over 4 years as a remote worker (2 years before pandemic and 2 years after). I did one 9 to 5 job during the pandemic 😄 where I worked remotely for 3 months before starting in-person.

So I have plenty of tips on what skills can help you in the long-run!

Time Management

This is a skill that is still in progress for me. I followed different types of techniques to improve my time management skills. Some of them are;

  1. Learning how to set goals and priorities. I am still learning this myself. The goal is to identify SMART goals and prioritise my efforts on tasks that truly matters.

  2. Using a planner or a digital tool to trac. I have used a wide range of tools like Evernote, Todoist, Akiflow, Notion, Google Sheets and Google Tasks. Based on the project I work on, tools I use are different. These days I am using the basic of all - Apple Notes and my Typo Notebook.

  3. Scheduling breaks. I make sure to take breaks in between work I do. I sometimes do yoga, go for lunch, watch an episode of a TV show or practice Spanish on DuoLingo when I want to take a break. Incorporating that mindfully has helped me to stop procrastinating.

I am in a different place in my time management journey now and these are few techniques I have incorporated into my life to manage my time when I work on projects. Read more ways of managing your time here.

You MUST schedule that coffee break into your work day!!

That is it for the week! I love writing this because I get to connect with like minded and talk about things they love!

So, if any of these mind-blowing topics strike a chord with you, don't hesitate for a second! Hit that reply button and let me in on your thoughts! I am beyond excited to hear from each and every one of you.

Join the conversation

or to participate.